Higher Education in Nebraska

Major Community Colleges in Nebraska

Nebraska is home to a large number of community colleges, offering a wide range of educational opportunities to students. These institutions provide excellent options for those looking for an affordable and flexible way to pursue higher education. The following is a brief overview of the major community colleges in Nebraska.

Central Community College: Located in Grand Island, Central Community College (CCC) is one of the largest community colleges in Nebraska, with campuses throughout the state. The college offers more than 100 Associate degree and certificate programs as well as several transfer options for those looking to pursue a four-year degree. In addition, CCC provides various continuing education courses and online learning opportunities for students who are unable to attend classes on campus.

Southeast Community College: Located in Lincoln, Southeast Community College (SCC) is another large community college in Nebraska with several campuses throughout the state. SCC offers more than 150 degree and certificate programs across six academic divisions including business; health sciences; agriculture; technology; liberal arts; and engineering & industrial technologies. The college also provides online learning opportunities as well as dual enrollment programs allowing high school students to get a head start on their college career.

Metropolitan Community College: Metropolitan Community College (MCC) is located in Omaha and serves students from several counties across Nebraska. MCC offers more than 200 Associate degrees and certificate programs across seven different academic divisions including business & technology; health sciences & nursing; public safety & emergency services; liberal arts & sciences; visual media arts & design; culinary arts & hospitality management; and early childhood education & family services. Additionally, MCC has an extensive continuing education program allowing students to further their knowledge or gain new skills without having to enroll in a full-time program or course load.

Western Nebraska Community College: Western Nebraska Community College (WNCC) is located in Scottsbluff and serves students from western Nebraska as well as parts of Wyoming, South Dakota, Colorado, Kansas, and New Mexico. WNCC offers more than 40 Associate degrees and certificate programs across six different academic divisions including business administration & information systems technology; health sciences & allied health technologies; general studies/liberal arts/humanities/education/military science/public safety/emergency services/criminal justice technologies; industrial technologies; engineering technologies;and visual media arts design. WNCC also provides dual enrollment options for high school students who wish to get an early start on their college career while still attending high school classes.

Northeast Community College: Northeast Community College (NECC) is located in Norfolk serving residents of northeast Nebraska as well as parts of Iowa and South Dakota. NECC offers more than 40 Associate degrees, certificates, diplomas,and apprenticeships across seven different academic divisions including agriculture; business; health professions; liberal arts; science, math,engineering,& technology; trades, industries,& transportation; and visual media. NECC has an extensive continuing education program that allows adults to further their knowledge or gain new skills without having to enroll in a full-time program or course load.

Top 3 Counties in Nebraska

According to COUNTRYAAH, the third county in Nebraska is Lancaster County. Located in the southeastern corner of the state, Lancaster County encompasses nearly 800 square miles. The county seat and largest city is Lincoln, which is also the state capital. Other cities in the county include Waverly, Bennet, and Walton. The population of Lancaster County is approximately 300,000 people and it contains some of the most fertile farmland in Nebraska. Agriculture is a major industry with corn, soybeans, wheat, hay, and sorghum being some of the main crops grown. Cattle ranching is also a prominent industry in Lancaster County with cattle being raised for both commercial and show purposes.

The fourth county on this list is Douglas County which covers an area of about 400 square miles and includes many cities such as Omaha, Bellevue, Papillion, La Vista and Ralston. Douglas County has a population of over 500,000 people making it one of the most populous counties in Nebraska. It has a diverse economy with employment opportunities available in manufacturing, healthcare services, retail trade and educational services industries among others. Omaha is one of the largest cities in Nebraska with many attractions such as art galleries and museums as well as several professional sports teams including baseball’s Omaha Storm Chasers and football’s Omaha Nighthawks.

Top 3 Universities in Nebraska

The University of Nebraska-Lincoln is the largest and oldest public university in Nebraska. This university is located in Lincoln and serves over 25,000 students annually. The University of Nebraska-Lincoln offers over 300 academic programs for undergraduate and graduate students, including the College of Arts & Sciences, College of Business, College of Education & Human Sciences, and College of Engineering. Along with providing a top notch education, UNL also offers a vibrant campus life with many clubs and organizations to join as well as sporting events to attend.

The second largest university in Nebraska is the University of Nebraska at Omaha (UNO). Located in Omaha, UNO provides educational opportunities to almost 15,000 students each year. It offers more than 200 undergraduate and graduate degree programs across six colleges such as the College of Communication, Fine Arts & Media; College of Information Science & Technology; and the Peter Kiewit Institute. The university also has a diverse student body that consists of both local and international students from over 70 countries.

University of Nebraska at Omaha

Third on this list is Creighton University which is located in Omaha. This private Jesuit university serves close to 8500 students annually who come from all 50 states as well as several foreign countries. Creighton University provides an excellent education with its numerous undergraduate majors such as business administration, nursing, health sciences, engineering science & technology; along with several graduate programs like medicine, law and theology. In addition to academics it also has an outstanding athletics program that consists of 16 NCAA Division I teams known as the Bluejays.