Usaers Vatican City

Vatican City, officially known as the Vatican City State, is an independent city-state enclaved within Rome, Italy. It is located on the western bank of the Tiber River in the heart of Rome, covering an area of approximately 44 hectares (110 acres). Despite its small size, Vatican City holds significant religious, cultural, and political importance as the spiritual and administrative center of the Roman Catholic Church.



Vatican City experiences a Mediterranean climate, characterized by hot summers and mild winters. Summers are typically dry and warm, with temperatures averaging around 30°C (86°F), while winters are cool and rainy, with temperatures ranging from 7°C to 15°C (45°F to 59°F). Spring and autumn are pleasant seasons, with mild temperatures and occasional rainfall.


Due to its urban environment and small size, Vatican City has limited fauna. However, the city is home to various bird species, including doves and seagulls, which are often seen around St. Peter’s Square and the Vatican Gardens.

Longest Rivers

Vatican City does not have any rivers flowing through its territory. However, it is located near the Tiber River, which runs through Rome and serves as an important waterway in central Italy.

Highest Mountains

Vatican City is located on relatively flat terrain and does not have any significant mountains within its borders.



The area now occupied by Vatican City has been inhabited since ancient times. Archaeological excavations have revealed evidence of human settlement dating back to the Paleolithic period. In ancient Rome, the site was known as the Mons Vaticanus and was primarily used for agricultural purposes.

Rise of Christianity

In the 1st century AD, Christianity emerged and spread throughout the Roman Empire. The martyrdom of St. Peter, one of the twelve apostles of Jesus Christ, is traditionally believed to have occurred on Vatican Hill, leading to the construction of early Christian shrines and basilicas in the area.

Papal States

During the Middle Ages, the Vatican Hill became part of the Papal States, a territory governed by the Pope and the Catholic Church. The Papal States played a central role in European politics and religion, with the Vatican serving as the residence of the Pope and the headquarters of the Roman Catholic Church.

Lateran Treaty

In 1929, the Lateran Treaty was signed between the Holy See and the Kingdom of Italy, establishing Vatican City as an independent sovereign state under the sovereignty of the Holy See. The treaty recognized the Vatican’s territorial sovereignty and granted it various rights and privileges, including extraterritoriality and diplomatic immunity.

Modern Age

Today, Vatican City remains the spiritual and administrative center of the Roman Catholic Church, with the Pope serving as the supreme pontiff and head of state. The city-state plays a crucial role in global diplomacy, humanitarian efforts, and the promotion of religious dialogue and peace.


Vatican City has a unique demographic profile, with a population consisting mainly of clergy, religious officials, and administrative staff working for the Holy See. The population is estimated to be around 800 individuals, making it one of the least populous sovereign states in the world. Citizenship is primarily granted to members of the clergy and select Vatican employees.

Administrative Divisions

Vatican City is a sovereign city-state and does not have any administrative divisions. The entire territory is governed directly by the Holy See, the central governing body of the Roman Catholic Church, with the Pope serving as the head of state.

10 Largest Cities by Population

Vatican City is a city-state with no distinct cities or urban areas other than the Vatican itself. Therefore, there are no other cities or population centers within its territory.

Education Systems

Vatican City does not have its own formal education system. However, it does offer educational opportunities through institutions such as the Vatican Apostolic Library and the Vatican Museums, which provide academic resources and cultural enrichment to scholars, researchers, and visitors from around the world. Education within the Vatican is primarily focused on religious studies, theology, and ecclesiastical history.



Vatican City does not have its own airport. The nearest major airport is Rome Fiumicino Airport (Leonardo da Vinci Airport), located approximately 30 kilometers (18 miles) southwest of Vatican City.


Vatican City does not have any railway stations or railway infrastructure. However, the city is well-connected to the Italian rail network, with Roma San Pietro railway station located just outside the Vatican walls.


Vatican City is accessible by road via the Via della Conciliazione, a major thoroughfare that connects St. Peter’s Square to the rest of Rome. The city-state is also connected to the Italian highway system, providing convenient access for visitors and residents alike.

Country Facts

  • Population: 800
  • Capital: Vatican City
  • Official Language: Latin
  • Religion: Roman Catholicism
  • Currency: Euro (EUR)
  • ISO Country Code: VA
  • International Calling Code: +379
  • Top-Level Domain: .va